S3NANO ended on 31 December 2015.

A successor network, Marie Sklodowska-Curie ITN 'Spin-NANO' will start from January 2016. The new network will employ 15 PhD students.

This network brings together an exceptionally strong team of world-leading experts in nano-science and technology from 6 European countries in order to achieve breakthroughs in understanding and successful utilization of nanoscale solid-state spin systems in emerging quantum technologies. The consortium consists of Universities of Sheffield (coordinator), Cambridge, TU Munich, Konstanz, TU Delft, ETH Zurich, Basel, Copenhagen, CNRS-Toulouse, and industrial partners Helia Photonics and Attocube Systems. All of these institutions will be recruiting up to two researchers for 36 month positions with the start date from January to December 2016. The consortium is further enhanced by Partner Organisations: National Graphene Institute (Manchester), Element 6, Urenco, Janssen Precision Engineering, Leiden Cryogenics and HQGraphene. 
The proposed research in physics and applications of spin nano-systems will underpin developments in quantum computing, quantum communications and networks, and nano-imaging. An important innovative step consolidating the joint effort of the whole consortium in the studies of spin nano-systems is the focus on crystalline solids, where detrimental magnetic interactions of electron spins with lattice nuclei are negligible and well-controlled. We will develop electrically-controlled spin-quantum-bits (qubits) in Si-Ge quantum dots and nanowires; will optically manipulate spin impurities in diamond in applications for quantum computing and networks and in nano-magnetometry; will achieve new understanding of quantum phenomena due to the spin-valley coupling in atomically thin 2D semiconductors. Such wide material base emphasizes the truly multidisciplinary character of this collaboration opening opportunities for crossing the boundaries between several areas of solid-state physics and technology. 
The consortium of 14 academic and 7 industrial groups will deliver top international level multidisciplinary training to 15 early stage researchers, offering them an extended program of multinational exchanges and secondments. Network-wide training course in transferable skills will be specially developed and delivered by the Think Ahead (Sheffield), an award winning programme supporting Early Career Researchers (award by the Times Higher Education, 2014). 
The new network builds on the success of FP7 ITN S3NANO (also coordinated by A Tartakovskii), which has delivered excellent training to 16 researchers as well as state-of-the-art nano-science and technology. The current proposal is designed to advance this multi-disciplinary research field significantly beyond the state-of-the-art, and train a new cohort of researchers capable of developing spin-based solid-state quantum technologies towards real-life applications in the next 5 to 10 years.


Recruiting Participant

Group Leader

(link to Group/Company)

Contact email address

1 & 2

University of Sheffield

Prof Alexander Tartakovskii  Job Ref No - UOS012443

Please note that these two posts have been readvertised with a new closing date for applications  -  25 January 2016


University of Cambridge

Prof Mete Atatüre


Helia Photonics

Dr Caspar Clark


Technical University of Munich

Dr Friedemann Reinhard


University of Konstanz

Prof Guido Burkard


attocube systems AG

Prof Khaled Karraï


National Centre for Scientific Research

Prof Bernhard Urbaszek



ETH Zürich


Prof Klauss Ensslin

Prof Atac Imamoglu



University of Basel 

Prof Richard J Warburton

Prof Daniel Loss



Delft University of Technology

Prof Ronald Hanson

Prof Lieven Vandersypen


University of Copenhagen

Prof Ferdinand Kuemmeth

Prof Charles Marcus

Mobility Rule: at the time of recruitment by the host organisation, researchers must not have resided or carried out their main activity (work, studies, etc.) in the country of their host organisation for more than 12 months in the 3 years immediately prior to the reference date. Compulsory national service and/or short stays such as holidays are not taken into account. 

Early-Stage Researchers (ESRs) shall, at the time of recruitment by the host organisation, be in the first four years (full-time equivalent research experience) of their research careers and have not been awarded a doctoral degree.